Does my bum look big in this?

Think this will be my entry to the PDN Faces portrait photography contest this year.

This is me giving Cosmo and all the other gender-stereotyping-women-objectifying magazines the finger. I am so tired of seeing all the same headlines on the cover: ‘Loose 10lbs in 10 days’, Get your bikini body ready for the beach’, ’10 things guys crave in bed’, ‘how to please your man’ and my personal favorite: ‘Sexy VS Skanky The Trick That Attracts Hot Guys Like Crazy’ (Cosmo Nov 2008).  Here’s a radical idea: how about magazines and advertising tell women that they’re pretty enough as they are, that all bodies are different and all ideals of ‘sexy’ are objective. It’s okay to be who you are. If that means being the opposite to ‘sexy’… then that’s okay.

Christine Redmond ‘Consume this Cosmo!’ 2010, photographic print, dimensions variable.

One Response to “Does my bum look big in this?”

  1. Laughed out loud when I saw these pictures, great work.

Leave a comment